Of Mice and Marathons Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/ Mon, 21 Aug 2017 04:15:15 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sun, Aug 20, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-20-2017.html <p>PM: 9.1 miles, averaged 8:45. HR 158.&nbsp;</p> <p>I guess this is my long run. Keeping it simple and adding minutes to my long run rather than just jumping to arbitrary mileage.</p> <p>AIS and fascia and psoa release.</p> Sun, 20 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 19, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-19-2017.html <p>Lunch: 7.25 miles, averaged 8:40. HR 154</p> <p>Did psoa release, which I&#39;ve been doing to loosen things up.</p> Sat, 19 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 18, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-18-2017.html <p>Lunch: 7 miles, averaged 8:34. HR 164.</p> <p>Did 6 x 20&quot; strides</p> Fri, 18 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 17, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-17-2017.html <p>Off.</p> Thu, 17 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 16, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-16-2017.html <p>PM: 7 miles, averaged 7:57. HR 162.</p> <p>Had an interview today and will be working st Oakland Univerdity (where Megan works) as a lecturer. It&#39;s not tenure track but it pays a&nbsp;liveable wage, about 10,000 more per year than I&#39;ve ever made. With a flexible schedule, it&#39;s a no brainer. My life and running will be better for it.</p> Wed, 16 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 15, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-15-2017.html <p>PM: 6.5 miles, averaged 9:14.</p> <p>First few with Megan.</p> Tue, 15 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 14, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-14-2017.html <p>Off. Same.</p> Mon, 14 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Aug 13, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-13-2017.html <p>Off. Can&#39;t recall.</p> Sun, 13 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 12, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-12-2017.html <p>Off. Can&#39;t remember my excuse.</p> Sat, 12 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 11, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-11-2017.html <p>Off. Can&#39;t remember my excuse.</p> Fri, 11 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 10, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-10-2017.html <p>Noon: 6 miles, averaged 9:04. HR 151.</p> Thu, 10 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 09, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-09-2017.html <p>PM: 5 miles, averaged 9:57. HR 136</p> <p>Did a few miles with Megan. Great weather.</p> Wed, 09 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 08, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-08-2017.html <p>Off. Megan and I did a micro hike up one of Sleeping Bear dunes. I was going to run, but couldn&#39;t be bothered. I was stressed about returning to work, but we had a nice time.</p> Tue, 08 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 07, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-07-2017.html <p>AM: 7.25 miles, averaged 9:01</p> <p>Megan and I are headed to Traverse City for the day/night. I think it&#39;s the first outing we&#39;ve had since we came here, other than to visit family and friends.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Mon, 07 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Aug 06, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-06-2017.html <p>PM: 7.25 miles, averaged 8:51. HR 146.</p> <p>Decided I&#39;m not doing a marathon this fall. Long base building and working on 5k/10k PR to help marathon time. I&#39;m already running 90-100 miles peak in marathon training and chipping away. That will only goes so far. That will give me some time this fall to rebuild as the last 12 months have been so wacky. I&#39;ll start with low-stakes workouts. Lately I&#39;ve been try to start in the middle of things. I like the new direction and I&#39;ll work over the next year to work on my marathon PR.</p> Sun, 06 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 05, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-05-2017.html <p>Lunch: 10 miles, averaged 8:32. HR 153.</p> <p>Feels like mid&nbsp;to early September. Breezy and dry.</p> <p>PM: 5.1 miles, averaged 9:42. HR 143.</p> <p>Ran with Megan. Very enjoyable run.</p> Sat, 05 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 04, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-04-2017.html <p>Lunch: 8 miles, averaged 8:01. HR 165. Oddly high but felt rough.</p> <p>Night: 4 miles in the dark, averaged 8:40. HR 136.</p> <p>Fall-like conditions. About 59 and breezy. Weird summer.</p> Fri, 04 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 03, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-03-2017.html <p>Off. I had the day off. Slept late. Thunderstorms rolled through all day. Didn&#39;t get out.</p> Thu, 03 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 02, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-02-2017.html <p>Off. Inventory. I was so exhausted I started to think I was going to get fired for something I had done. Later it turned out there was nothing wrong.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 02 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 01, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-01-2017.html <p>Off. We had inventory, which meant I worked 3:30-12:00 Monday and 5:00AM-1:00 the next morning. Ended up working until 4:30.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Tue, 01 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 31, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-31-2017.html <p>PM: 4 miles.&nbsp;</p> <p>Planned a long run but even 4 miles was extremely difficult. Having a rough time.</p> Mon, 31 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 30, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-30-2017.html <p>Off. Can&#39;t remember what happened this day. Took a late nap and it was too late to get out.</p> Sun, 30 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 29, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-29-2017.html <p>AM: 8 miles, averaged 8:58. HR 142.</p> <p>Beautiful morning to run. Did not want to get up.</p> <p>PM: 4 miles, averaged 8:47. HR 137.</p> <p>Falling over tied.</p> Sat, 29 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 28, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-28-2017.html <p>Lunch: 6 miles, averaged 6:46</p> <p>7:07-6:15 pace</p> <p>Hot out the gate as I was time crunched and very irritated. Lay in bed for too long this morning. Will try to run after work at 10:30.</p> <p>Night: 6 miles on the treadmill. 10 minute pace.</p> Fri, 28 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 27, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-27-2017.html <p>Noon: 9 miles, averaged 7:52. HR 171? Seemed really high but consistent and my watch missed the first quarter mile.</p> <p>Air quality warning. It felt pretty awful.</p> <p>PM: 4.5 miles, averaged 9:44. HR HR 145. Again, high.</p> <p>First few with Megan.</p> Thu, 27 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 26, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-26-2017.html Off. Unplanned day. Wed, 26 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 25, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-25-2017.html <p>Noon: 9 miles, averaged 8:09. HR 151.</p> <p>PM: 5 miles, averaged 8:05. HR 152. Did a few strides.</p> <p>Very dry and comfortable. So nice. Windows are open.</p> Tue, 25 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 24, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-24-2017.html <p>Night: 8 miles, averaged 9:08. HR 133.</p> <p>Very dry, cool and pleasant. Fallish. I wore a shirt.</p> Mon, 24 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 23, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-23-2017.html <p>PM: 12 miles, averaged 7:29</p> <p>10-mile progression. 2 cool down. 8:00-6:20. Mostly around 7:15, which is about marathon effort in the warmer weather. I didn&#39;t wear my heart rate monitor as it was still wet from last night. Yep.</p> <p>Crappy day at work, but this turned out to be a good run. I love a moderate to uptempo progression with no pace goals or pace monitoring.</p> Sun, 23 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 22, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-22-2017.html <p>PM: 10 miles, averaged 8:32. HR 152.</p> <p>Like a rainforest. Thankfully it was only 80 with cloud cover.</p> Sat, 22 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 21, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-21-2017.html <p>AM/Lunch: 8.25 miles, averaged 8:32. HR 156.</p> <p>Night: 4.5 miles on the treadmill in 34:40 (7:42 pace).</p> <p>I alternated 7.0/9.0. It felt harder than it should have, but I like it as a concept for an actual and longer workout.</p> <p>I&#39;m going to be enlisting the coaching services of John Starrett (formerly Bam of the blog). I think I need some direction since I&#39;ve had so much time of inconsistency. He&#39;s given some excellent direction to Ben and Riley, who have both worked hard and seen the payoffs.</p> Fri, 21 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 20, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-20-2017.html <p>AM/Lunch: 8.25 miles, averaged 7:42</p> <p>Night: 4 Miles in 34:30 on the treadmill (8:37 pace)</p> Thu, 20 Jul 2017 06:00:00