Of Mice and Marathons Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/ Fri, 23 Jun 2017 23:11:14 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Thu, Jun 22, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-22-2017.html <p>AM/Lunch: 9 miles. HR 157.</p> <p>Did 16&#39; of tempo. 6:13 average. Didn&#39;t have it for the 20&#39;. A little warm and slightly humid. A long way to go.</p> <p>PM: 5 miles. HR 144.</p> Thu, 22 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 21, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-21-2017.html <p>Lunch: 10 miles.&nbsp;</p> <p>A happy third anniversary to my wife.</p> Wed, 21 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 20, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-20-2017.html <p>AM: 10.25 miles. HR 162.</p> <p>Hoping to get to the gym after I get out of work at 10.</p> <p>PM: 4.5 miles at the gym fairly late. Light core. </p> Tue, 20 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 19, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-19-2017.html <p>Off. Took a late nap and didn&#39;t have time. Started my new position. Hoping it will help my running.</p> Mon, 19 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 18, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-18-2017.html <p>Off. Worked a long day, leaving no time to run.</p> Sun, 18 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 17, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-17-2017.html <p>PM: 4 miles. HR 140. Did some strides.</p> Sat, 17 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 16, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-16-2017.html <p>PM: 10 miles. First few with Megan. Did some strides. Very tired.</p> Fri, 16 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 15, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-15-2017.html PM: 7 miles very slow Thu, 15 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 14, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-14-2017.html <p>AM/Lunch: 11 miles. HR 153.</p> <p>Cut down the first 9 miles from 9:00-6:08. Cooled down 2 miles. Some light rain made the run more comfortable than it might have been.</p> <p>PM: 4.25 miles. HR 133.</p> <p>Very slow shakeout. Loopy. I got some pull-ups in, which I recently started doing again. My extreme lower core section doesn&#39;t really like them. Need to get back to core and hip stuff to help with that.</p> Wed, 14 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 13, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-13-2017.html AM: 10 miles. HR 147. Brought Megan some late-bloom lilacs from the park and ran home with them. PM: 6 miles. HR 133. 4.5 with Megan. Mid-80s and drier than this morning with a nice breeze. Great weather. Tue, 13 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 12, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-12-2017.html Off. Needed to take a late nap. I was going to run after dinner, but started drinking beer instead. Two days off in a row coming to me, so I will long some miles. Mon, 12 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 11, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-11-2017.html <p>AM/Lunch: 6 miles. HR 142.</p> <p>PM: 8 miles. HR 153.</p> <p>Hot. Morning run uncomfortable with bad air quality. Better this afternoon, but hotter. Crazy crowded. Part of the loop goes through a beach, which makes things interesting.</p> Sun, 11 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 10, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-10-2017.html <p>PM: 4 miles. HR 156.</p> <p>Last mile hard in <strong>5:31. </strong>It was pushing 90 degrees. Short on time.</p> <p>Kind of a dud week with 3 runs of 4, 4, 5, but I got out.</p> <p>Megan and I went to a Shakespeare play in the University of Michigan Arboretum with her colleague and husband. It was interesting (changing of stage, using the woods and trees), but I really hate Shakespeare, mostly because I never studied him and didn&#39;t really care to (even after 3 degrees in English). We had a good time and the weather was absolutely perfect.</p> Sat, 10 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 09, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-09-2017.html <p>PM: 4 miles. HR 128.</p> <p>Didn&#39;t have much time after my nap and before dinner.</p> Fri, 09 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 08, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-08-2017.html <p>PM: 10 miles, averaged 6:56.&nbsp;HR 166.</p> <p>Moderate to aerobic threshold. Warm.</p> Thu, 08 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 07, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-07-2017.html <p>Lunch: 10 miles. HR 147.</p> <p>PM: 5 miles. HR 142.</p> Wed, 07 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 06, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-06-2017.html PM: 10 miles. HR 135. Did some strides. First few with Megan. Cool and fallish. Tue, 06 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 05, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-05-2017.html PM: 5.25 miles. HR 136. Mon, 05 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 04, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-04-2017.html PM: 10 miles. HR 156. Sun, 04 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 03, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-03-2017.html <p>PM: 10 miles really slow. HR 133.</p> Sat, 03 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 02, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-02-2017.html PM: 12 miles. HR 154. Stridlek Workout of 3(6 x 45'). Equal distance recovery and 5' jog between sets. I warmed up with Megan and griped about retiring from running. Workout went fine.It's been a bit too long since I did anything of quality other than an easy long run. Fri, 02 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 01, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-01-2017.html Inplanned day off. Worked late, took a nap, and didn't have time. Grumpy. Thu, 01 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Wed, May 31, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-31-2017.html PM: 10 miles. Did some strides. HR 140. Wed, 31 May 2017 06:00:00 Tue, May 30, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-30-2017.html PM: 10 miles slow slow (about 10' pace). HR 132. Did the first few miles with Megan. Tue, 30 May 2017 06:00:00 Mon, May 29, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-29-2017.html <p>AM: 8 miles progression, averaged 7:17</p> <p>7:50-6:22</p> Mon, 29 May 2017 06:00:00 Sun, May 28, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-28-2017.html <p>PM: 10 miles high moderate to AT, averaged 7:16. HR 164</p> <p>Tried to beat the storm.&nbsp;Lot of hours this week.</p> Sun, 28 May 2017 06:00:00 Sat, May 27, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-27-2017.html PM: 10 miles easy. HR 152? (Seemed high for perceived effort) Sat, 27 May 2017 06:00:00 Fri, May 26, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-26-2017.html PM: 10 miles slow. HR 130. First few miles with Megan, then continued on my own at the pace we set. Exhausted. No nap two days in a row! Worked from 5-4 today. I was going to go in early tomorrow but waking up at 4:00AM is just plain too early already. Of course I am not in bed early now. Kind of a bust the last two weeks, but I got my long run in this week. I should be back on track the rest of the week and into next week, with workouts starting back up now that my cold is mostly gone. Fri, 26 May 2017 06:00:00 Thu, May 25, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-25-2017.html PM: 5 miles. HR ~125. HR monitor was off and my GPS was off. Closer to 5 miles than 4.5. I worked from 5-4 and got Megan's birthday present and we went to dinner early, so this is what I ended up fitting in. Thu, 25 May 2017 06:00:00 Wed, May 24, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-24-2017.html PM: 18 miles. HR 149. Pace was quite slow. Just had no turnover and couldn't move. Got some time on my feet. Wed, 24 May 2017 06:00:00 Tue, May 23, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-23-2017.html No run. Waited for a call from my sister and then just fell asleep. Didn't fit my run in. Tue, 23 May 2017 06:00:00 Mon, May 22, 2017 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-22-2017.html Off. Had the day off and just didn't do much. Just couldn't get up and out. Mon, 22 May 2017 06:00:00