Of Mice and Marathons Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/ Tue, 21 Jan 2020 21:59:53 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Tue, Jan 21, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-21-2020.html <p>PM: 10.4 miles, averaged 9:42. HR 152.</p> <p>Did a sporadic pickup the last 4 miles for a progression. They weren&#39;t fast but faster than I have been running. Still very slick in places.</p> Tue, 21 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Mon, Jan 20, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-20-2020.html <p>PM: 10 miles, averaged 10:20. HR 147.</p> <p>Quite icy in places and I had to snow shoe some of the sidewalks, but most of the neighborhood street weren&#39;t terrible. Getting some miles in the last few days has improved my mood considerably. Still waiting on parts for my bike, so I decided to buy a power meter and have them install that while I am at it. Apparently it&#39;s the only way to train for cycling.</p> <p>It will likely be a higher running week since it will likely be Thursday or Friday I am guessing before I get it back.</p> Mon, 20 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Sun, Jan 19, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-19-2020.html <p>PM: 7.2 miles, averaged 11:16. HR 140.</p> <p>Quite slippery in places, but I managed. Should have put my Katoolas on.</p> Sun, 19 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Sat, Jan 18, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-18-2020.html <p>PM: 4.5 miles on the treadmill.</p> <p>Wasn&#39;t really feeling it. My attention sucks right now and the treadmill isn&#39;t the best option, but we got 8 inches of snow and it was partially slush and partially frozen.</p> Sat, 18 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Fri, Jan 17, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-17-2020.html <p>PM: 10 miles, averaged 10:11. HR 145.</p> <p>First 4 w/ Megan. Chilly out.</p> Fri, 17 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Thu, Jan 16, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-16-2020.html <p>PM: 8.3 miles, averaged 10:28. HR 143.</p> <p>Dark and chilly but good run. Waited for jury duty for 7.5 hours and never got called. I was hoping to be more a part of the process, but I guess I participated as required. I read a bit about training with a power meter for cycling. Very data oriented stuff. Much more complex than running which is both interesting and (of course) expensive.</p> <p>I&#39;m shifting my focus to cycling for the future while still doing a decent amount of running to maintain weight (currently to lose weight) and destress.</p> Thu, 16 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Wed, Jan 15, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-15-2020.html <p>Off.</p> <p>Planned to run, but too a nap instead and didn&#39;t feel like going out.</p> Wed, 15 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 14, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-14-2020.html <p>PM: 4 miles w/ Megan, averaged 10:10. HR 145.</p> <p>Didn&#39;t feel like running. I was in a bad mood and I&#39;m just really off mentally and lack of focus in everything I am doing.</p> Tue, 14 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Mon, Jan 13, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-13-2020.html <p>Off.</p> <p>I was going to run or hit the trainer, but didn&#39;t.</p> Mon, 13 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Sun, Jan 12, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-12-2020.html <p>PM: 30&#39; on the trainer. HR 150.</p> <p>Haven&#39;t felt like running at all.</p> <p>Went to the bike shop to figure out what I was doing wrong. Got it to mostly work, enough to do 30&#39; on Zwift. I ended up coughing really deeply and ended up vomitted up lunch. Good times. Cough been going on 10 weeks on Saturday.</p> Sun, 12 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Sat, Jan 11, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-11-2020.html <p>Off.</p> <p>Purchased a Wahoo Kickr trainer for my bike. Messed around with that for a while to try to get it setup correctly. Couldn&#39;t get it to work.</p> Sat, 11 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Fri, Jan 10, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-10-2020.html <p>Off.</p> Fri, 10 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Thu, Jan 09, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-09-2020.html <p>Off.</p> Thu, 09 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Wed, Jan 08, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-08-2020.html <p>Off.</p> <p>Slept in the bed last night without too many coughing fits. Feel okay so far today. Will likely need to take a few more days off to maybe finally get out from under this thing.</p> Wed, 08 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 07, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-07-2020.html <p>Off.&nbsp;</p> <p>Got up around 8 or 9 when Megan was getting up (I slept on the couch and didn&#39;t cough too much, but was worried I would). I felt awful when I got up. Slept until noon. Got up for a bit and did some minor work, but stayed on the couch. Slept from 2:50-4:30 and then again from 8:30-9:30. Felt somewhat better. Not coughing as much, but when I do it is really intense.</p> Tue, 07 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Mon, Jan 06, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-06-2020.html <p>First day of classes.&nbsp;</p> <p>Coughed a lot today and by the end of the day I wasn&#39;t feeling great.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 06 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Sun, Jan 05, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-05-2020.html <p>PM: 4.5 miles, averaged 10:38. HR 149.</p> <p>Got some light snow that made things a touch slippery but nothing bad. Cold is definitely there. Trying to keep it from flaring up, but I refuse to take a rest day at this point.</p> <p>Went to the gym after to allow Megan to use my guest pass feature. Did captain&#39;s chair, some core machine, and the hip machines.</p> <p>Firsy day of winter semester tomorrow.</p> Sun, 05 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Sat, Jan 04, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-04-2020.html <p>PM: 4 miles on the treadmill.</p> <p>Did captain&#39;s chair and some core machines and some weak pullups and chinups. It&#39;s been a while.</p> <p>9 weeks of the cough, preceded by about a week of a minor cold. A new cold started kicking in today. I&#39;ve never been so sick as when I have lived here. I am wondering if it is something environmental, though Megan seems normal and is not catching anything I have.</p> <p>School starts Monday.</p> Sat, 04 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Fri, Jan 03, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-03-2020.html <p>PM: 10.4 miles, averaged 8:34. HR 170.</p> <p>Felt pretty decent after going back to bed and sleeping most of the early afternoon. Can&#39;t tell if it is overtiredness, stress of impending semester, or depression. Enjoyed the run even though it was too fast for current fitness.</p> Fri, 03 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Thu, Jan 02, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-02-2020.html <p>PM: 6.3 miles, averaged 9:28. HR 153.</p> <p>We got home around 4. Nice two-hour, direct flight that was 30 minutes early. I slept pretty much the whole way.</p> Thu, 02 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Wed, Jan 01, 2020 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-01-2020.html <p>Lunch: 4 miles w/ Megan, averaged 9:12. HR 154.</p> <p>Megan was on the move again today. Negative split and progression on what is a down and then up course. Roads were mostly clear with just enough shoulder for marginal safety. We got together with my siblings and did some sledding on the old back hill. I brought out my middle school snowboard and did a few short runs downs the smaller section of the back field with a beer. Made me wish I could put time and money in snowboarding, but cycling is already too expensive.</p> Wed, 01 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Tue, Dec 31, 2019 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-31-2019.html <p>Off.</p> <p>We got about 8 inches of snow in Maine and the roads weren&#39;t fantastic earlier in the day, though they cleared pretty quickly. Did a bit of shoveling for my parents. We went to my nephew&#39;s birthday party and had a good time.</p> Tue, 31 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 30, 2019 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-30-2019.html <p>PM: 4 miles w/ Megan, averaged 9:30. HR 146.</p> <p>Megan was on the move again today.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Mon, 30 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Sun, Dec 29, 2019 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-29-2019.html <p>PM: 4.1 miles, averaged 9:47. HR 155.</p> <p>Storm coming in tomorrow.</p> Sun, 29 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 28, 2019 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-28-2019.html <p>Lunch: 4 miles w/ Megan, averaged 9:31. HR 153.</p> <p>First full day in Maine.&nbsp;Megan was on the move today. She motored some of the hills. 8 years on the blog today.</p> Sat, 28 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Fri, Dec 27, 2019 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-27-2019.html <p>Off. Flew to Maine.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Fri, 27 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Thu, Dec 26, 2019 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-26-2019.html <p>PM: 50.6-mile ride. HR 158.</p> <p>Did the full Thursday Night Dirt Route solo starting from Rochester Mills Brewing Company with the bonus miles of riding to the start and home. Mid-50s and dry. Had to get this in. Criminal not to. Definitely my last ride of the year and I doubt I will get any more gravel rides in for a while as this gift of weather will not last. Headed to Maine tomorrow for 6 days before the semester starts up.</p> Thu, 26 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Wed, Dec 25, 2019 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-25-2019.html <p>Off.</p> <p>Tremendous hangover. We started the day with Megan&#39;s uncle and then stayed for a while at Megan&#39;s other aunt and uncle&#39;s before driving home.</p> Wed, 25 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Tue, Dec 24, 2019 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-24-2019.html <p>Lunch/PM: 12.4 miles, averaged 9:50. HR 150.</p> Tue, 24 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 23, 2019 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-23-2019.html <p>PM: 45.3-mile ride. HR 153.</p> <p>Beautiful day out. It was around 57 when I left. I rode to downtown Rochester and did the Thursday Night Dirt B-Group loop. Gravel was in pretty solid shape. I really wasn&#39;t sure what it would look like with all the temperature changes. Didn&#39;t get out until later as I was quite hungover and rode for a bit in the dark with the aid of my lights, which I spent a lot of money on for that exact reason.</p> Mon, 23 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Sun, Dec 22, 2019 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-22-2019.html <p>Lunch: 38.3-mile ride. HR 158.</p> <p>PM: 4 miles w/ Megan, averaged 10:12. HR 153.</p> <p>It was sunny and working toward 50 degrees with light winds, so I had to get out on my bike. Enjoyed the ride even though I am way out of shape. Slammed down a Chipotle burrito and went grocery shopping and then went running with Megan about 90 minutes later. I guessed my average HR within 1 beat per minute for the run.</p> <p>Plan is to ride tomorrow (temps around 51), and hopefully Thursday. I&#39;d like to hit some more dirt roads than cinder urban trails and tar that I did today.</p> Sun, 22 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 21, 2019 http://JasonDodge.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-21-2019.html <p>Lunch: 5.3 miles, averaged 10:24.&nbsp;HR 140.</p> <p>Breathing a bit labored.</p> Sat, 21 Dec 2019 07:00:00